Hurry UP!…And wait…

Standard

And as it seems to be in the fostering world, it’s hurry up and wait time. 

I dropped off my foster parent packet last night since the Licensor had said that was a good time.  I then emailed her this morning to let her know that it was there.  Like she told me to.

I got a message back right away…her Out Of Office message.  Saying she will be back next Friday. 

And honestly, it isn’t THAT big of a deal.  However, this same licensor is also a co-worker’s licensor.  And she had a scheduled appointment yesterday to license her new house. 

The licensor didn’t show up!  Called her about four hours AFTER the scheduled time and said that she had forgotten and was at home all day.

Nice. 

Let me tell you – if I take a vacation day from work and one of the workers just doesn’t show up?  I will be pissed.  I can’t just not show up for meetings at work.  That would be an issue.  But this licensor acted like it was just so blase and not a big deal that she hadn’t bothered to check her calendar. 

I am not perfect, but I do appreciate reliability, and at the very least, common courtesy. 

But hopefully she will prove my first impression wrong.  But like that dandruff saying – you never get a second chance to make a first impression.  And right now, that’s how I feel.

But I guess these are just the hoops I will be jumping through if I want to be a licensed foster mommy.

Leave a Reply

